Wake Forest National Moot Court Team Wins Region and Best Brief, Sending them to the National Finals

From Left to Right: Blake Stafford ('17), Mia Falzarano ('17), and Matt Cloutier ('17)

From Left to Right: Blake Stafford (’17), Mia Falzarano (’17), and Matt Cloutier (’17)

On Saturday, November 19, the Wake Forest National Moot Court Team of Matt Cloutier (‘17), Mia Falzarano (’17), and Blake Stafford (’17) won the Region IV Tournament of the National Moot Court Competition, winning all five of their matches. The team also won the Best Brief award after its brief received an outstanding score of 97.25, nearly five points higher than the next best brief and far above the average score of 83.3. The Cloutier-Falzarano-Stafford team won both of Friday’s preliminary rounds, earning a spot in the elimination rounds. On Saturday, they beat out a team from Campbell in the quarterfinals, a team from William and Mary in the semi-finals, and a team from West Virginia in the final round.

The National Moot Court Competition is the country’s oldest interscholastic moot court tournament. Region IV, the largest region in the tournament, is open to law schools in Kentucky, North Carolina, Virginia, and West Virginia. This year there were 21 teams from 12 law schools, including Duke, George Mason and Virginia universities. The competition was held in the Fourth Circuit courthouse in Richmond, Virginia.

By winning the Region IV Tournament, the Wake Forest team earned a spot in the National Moot Court Finals, where the top two teams from all fifteen regions will compete in New York City in February. This is the fourth straight year in which Wake Forest has won the Region IV Tournament, and the third straight in which Wake Forest has won the regional Best Brief award.

The team is very grateful for all the support they received from numerous fellow students, alumni and other attorneys, faculty members who judged practice arguments. The practice round judges included Professors Eggert, Gokhale, Graham, Morrow, C. Rose, Verstein, Walker, and Wright; law school alumni Dylan Greenwood (’13), Pat Kane (’07), Kaitlin Price (’16), and Gordon Widenhouse (’81); and 3Ls Taylor Anderson, Nina Banfield, Kayleigh Butterfield, Drew Culler, Kyleigh Feehs, James Lathrop, Malorie Letcavage, Nicole Scallon, Daniel Stratton, and Paige Topper.