2011 Billings, Exum, & Frye National Competition Results

On April 1-2, 2011, two teams from the Wake Forest University School of Law competed in the Inaugural Billings, Exum & Frye National Moot Court Competition.  Named for the three immediate past Chief Justices of North Carolina, including Wake Forest’s own Rhoda Billings, the Competition was held at Elon Law School in Greensboro.

The team of Hannah Davis, Wade Sample, and Austin Walsh won the award for the Second Best Brief in a pool of thirty-one teams from seventeen different law schools in the competition. The Davis-Sample-Walsh team finished with two wins and two losses, after four matches.

The team of Tom Filopoulos, Naomi Huntington, and Caroline Lawler also finished with two wins and two losses, including one by only four-hundredths (0.04) of a point.  In the four rounds, Caroline Lawler received oral argument scores of 95+, 95+, and 92+, and she would have likely earned a best oral advocate prize if not for an inexplicably much lower score in the other round.

More information about the competition can be found here, as well as this year’s problem.

Former North Carolina Supreme Court Chief Justices Henry Frye, Wake Forest Law alumna Rhoda Bryan Billings, and James G. Exum, Jr.

Professor Korzen, one of the teams’ coaches, wishes to extend his thanks to all of the professors and alumni who helped the team to prepare for the competition, including Professors Castleman, Curry, Curtis, Felsenburg, Green, Hall, Palmiter, Schneider, and Walker; and Moot Court alumni Jamie Dean (’09), Nicole DuPre (’10), Deb Halvorsen (’98), and Daniel Vandergriff (’10), as well as the teams’ co-coach, Professor Laura Graham.

The Billings, Exum & Frye competition caps off a very successful 2010-2011 interscholastic Moot Court season for Wake Forest, which included a tournament victory and several prizes for team briefs and individual oral advocacy.

“The success reflects well on the Moot Court Board as a whole and the entire law school community,” he said.  “As a current Justice of the North Carolina Supreme Court commented after the award ceremony, it is no surprise that Wake Forest earned a best brief award in view of all the outstanding lawyers the law school has produced.”

Congratulations to Professors Korzen and Graham, as well as their advocates, Hannah Davis, Wade Sample, Austin Walsh, Tom Filopoulos, Naomi Huntington, and Caroline Lawler.

Wake Forest Moot Court has sent teams to several other competitions in 2010-11.  Check them out here.